exploringkarate

I've been a keen karate student for 16 years, Shukokai and Shotokan, but there still seems to be no shortage of things to learn and explore. I'm hoping this blog will allow me to share my experiences and hear other martial artists thoughts.

Still keen as mustard

I’ve been studying Karate solidly for the last fifteen years and in the last couple of weeks I’ve felt as energised and excited in it’s learning as I ever have.

I think coming back to the club were I really started learning about Karate in ’97 has played a real part in that resurgence of energy. Prior to coming back I’d been part of a club that was on the decline with only a handful of members continuing to train and that probadly didn’t make for the most positive of environments despite everyone trying to do their best.

The ol’ club is in good health with lots of people really embracing Karate and exploring what it’s all about. It always had a really friendly family atmosphere and it’s good to be back in the midst of it.

I’ve always enjoyed reading books and magazines about martial arts to learn more but in the last couple of years I’ve really embraced Social Media and through it I’ve met new people who have opened my eyes to new ideas to explore about Karate.

I love the influence Karate has had and continues to have on my life.

  • It’s made me work hard to improve my flexibility and my strength to enable me to be as good as I can be.
  • It’s taught me a lot about learning techniques and working to refine and improve them.
  • I’ve learnt that being challenged but sticking with it can really help you become more resilient.
  • Ultimately it’s taught me that whatever I might think my limitations might be I can always move beyond them in some way.

I’ve taken a more circuitous path in my study of Karate than most students. Some students advance through to black belt level in 4 to 5 years of study. I’m currently working towards achieving the last rank of brown belt our club has and after that I really want to keep the momentum going and get straight into working towards the black belt grading. In our club working towards the black belt involves planning and teaching a couple of lessons and that’s just one of the new challenges I find really exciting.

In Karate we learn Kata, combinations of different techniques designed by the past masters to teach students the different combative principles. One of the new katas I’ll be learning is called Chinto which was put together to teach the combative methods a master called Matsumura learnt from a shipwrecked Chinese martial artist he encountered of the same name. Having learnt about the history of that particular kata I’m so excited about getting the chance to study it, it feels like I’ll almost be able to stand on the beach where the two fought, to feel a connection to the masters I’ve read about.

Looking around just a handful of blogs shows me that I’m not alone in having a passion that invigorates me. It makes me feel pretty lucky to have found something that really excites me and feels like a real complement to the rest of my life.

Long may it continue.

5 Comments»

  susielindau wrote @

Nice! I feel that way about tennis! Thanks for joining the party! I hope you click and meet a few new blogging friends!

  marydpierce wrote @

I know so many people who study Karate. I tried a six-week study once, years ago. I enjoyed it, but I also learned that it does take a lot of discipline and practice and there were other things competing for my time.

I enjoyed this post! I like that you are able to articulate what it is you get from your practice.

Nice to “meet” you!

  nwukshukokai wrote @

Nice to “meet” you also Mary and many thanks for your comments they’re greatly appreciated.

There has been the odd time when I’ve thought about how committing to the regular training sometimes doesn’t leave time or flexibility in my schedule to do other things. I suppose it’s a measure of how much I enjoy Karate that it’s never been a consideration to put it on the backburner to try other things. And also the realisation that by spending that time you’re able to really get to grips with it and learn some of the really important aspects which I’m sure is like many passions in life.

  The Guat wrote @

Good post. I saw you at Susie’s Blog Party 🙂

I haven’t been studying martial arts (Hapkido) that long, in fact after having my second kid last year I’ve been on hiatus…diapers, feedings, sleep deprivation and all that good stuff. But I agree, martial arts does teach you valuable lessons. I like the last one 🙂

  nwukshukokai wrote @

Well many thanks for coming to take a look. I’ve read a little bit about Hapkido and it sounded like a martial art I’d like to take a look at. I know what you mean about being there for new additions to the family. I slimmed down my training and went with the flow when our little boy came along. You have what you’ve learnt already and can always return when you’re juggling less diapers and have a bit more credit in the sleep bank :-). I really like your blog and will be following.


Leave a Reply

