exploringkarate

I've been a keen karate student for 16 years, Shukokai and Shotokan, but there still seems to be no shortage of things to learn and explore. I'm hoping this blog will allow me to share my experiences and hear other martial artists thoughts.

Put your bodyweight into it!

We spent a lot of time working with the impact pads on Tuesday night at training. I always enjoy a good session on the pads. It feels great to be able to put everything into a technique and get the physical feedback of feeling it strike the pad.

One thing that really came through was the extra power that is realised when you make sure you’re moving your bodyweight in the right way. While my reverse punches, gyaku zukis, felt a bit off par to begin with (note to self to work on those) I could really feel the difference in the impact of the stepping punches, oi zuki.

Getting the push off the ball of my back foot to get that acceleration, a bit like a sprinter (note the use of ‘a bit like’ in my case 😉 ), and really propel my bodyweight towards the pad and focus it’s impact through my arm onto the pad. It reaffirmed the value of maintaining the same height level throughout the technique so all the power is moving straight forward and not rising and falling as you step through.

Trying to get that same explosive movement and thrusting impact came into play for both the front kick, mae geri, and side kick, yoko geri.

It felt like another of those moments when the principles of karate just came together in a really tangible way and you realise this is why you’ve be learning techniques a certain way.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

