exploringkarate

I've been a keen karate student for 16 years, Shukokai and Shotokan, but there still seems to be no shortage of things to learn and explore. I'm hoping this blog will allow me to share my experiences and hear other martial artists thoughts.

Me, myself and I…Day 3

I was a bit slower off the mark on Day 3. My intention had been to be up with the larks and run through some kata and combinations downstairs. But I took the easy option and had a few more minutes snug under the duvet.

That reduced the time I had a little but I still managed to run through Tekki Shodan a few times.  I really like it as a kata to run through first thing in the morning. It’s a nice compact kata which helps when you’re pretty tall and haven’t not got a dojo sized space to hand. But it’s not just about convenience, it’s a kata I really enjoy doing so it worls well to help shake off the cobwebs in the morning.

Then I took sometime to explore Shiotsuki No.1. I’ve mentioned previously that I’ve thought about what I think are the combative principles within even this straightforward kata. And after working on Bassai Dai and Niseishi at training the night before I wanted to revisit my thinking a little.

The first movement, as is so often the case, is to look in the direction of the threat. To me this is about making sure you’re aware of what’s happening around you to give you a chance of seeing a threat which may lead to an attack. So I wanted to think about that thought over the course of the day.

The study of self defence seems to be evolving out of martial arts and bringing together different aspects with a focus on the practicalities of self defence/self protection. Today’s thinking has left me with a new addition on my To-Do List to see what people in thes areas have to say about developing good awareness.

Now what are the chances of me perfecting my spirit tomorrow to not hit that snooze button!

1 Comment»

  Theodore Kruczek wrote @

Karate is very much evolving. It has always been evolving, blending with other arts, and adapting to the times. Never forget that!


Leave a Reply

